News Ticker

C.J. Asher Interviews Ivy Bane, Feature Dancer

justmeC.J. Asher – First of all, thank you for this interview, Ivy! Tell us a little about yourself.

Ivy Bane – My name is Jeneé, I am thirty-three years young, from Lafayette, Louisiana. I went to school in the middle of nowhere at a high school named Beau Chene High in Arnaudville, La.

C.J. Asher – How did you get your start in dancing?

Ivy Bane – I honestly didn’t think about dancing until I went into a club in Savannah, Georgia. The name was Uncle Harry’s. It was a small place that was in the warehouse district. The manager said he would give me $100 to dance on the bar if I took my shirt and top off. I did and ended up making $300. After that I moonlighted there from time to time at the age of twenty-one. I didn’t make a career of it until I was twenty-six. I have been dancing ever since.

C.J. Asher – What made you decide to become a dancer?

Ivy Bane – I was tired of living pay check to pay check and decided to give dancing a shot once again. I had a friend that had just started dancing at my home club and she invited me to give it a shot with her.

C.J. Asher – How did you choose your stage name?

Ivy Bane – My stage name is kind of a funny story. I wanted to dance by the name I had used before but that was the house mom’s name so one of the girls looked at me and said “You look like an Ivy.” All the other girls agreed and it stuck. It has a different meaning to me though. My husband was a fourth, in his name at the end was an IV. I thought it was cute. He did too. My last name Bane is of course a shot out to my favorite Batman character Bane… Ummmm… Tom Hardy!

C.J. Asher – What other work do you do in adult entertainment besides being a feature dancer?

Ivy Bane – I compete in competitions whenever I can. Other than that, I’m somewhat of a local celebrity in my own right. A lot of people know who I am because of my pole work.

C.J. Asher – Most people don’t know that being a dancer is hard, physically demanding work!  What do you do outside of the club to relax, unwind and have fun?

Ivy Bane – I usually spend time with friends and family. Ride horse whenever I can. Ride four-wheelers, sing to my boys, dance around the living room with them, Make terrible puns with my oldest. Bonfires are a must when it gets cold. Watch the Saints or Seahawks on Sundays and LSU on Saturdays.

C.J. Asher – What television shows are you into right now?

Ivy Bane – As cliche as it sounds, I am a huge fan of Dancing with the Stars. I’ve gotten some really great Ideas for my sets from watching the show. My jungle set came from an idea of one of the dances that were done. I’m a massive fan of the Walking Dead. Like, I have never missed an episode. Ever! And I watch the after show. I love Black Sails. Supernatural. Total Divas. Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. I watch a lot of documentaries on Netflix.

C.J. Asher – What has been your favorite club to perform in so far?

Ivy Bane – I have been to a lot of different clubs but nothing compares to doing a competition at my home club, Michael’s Men’s Club in Broussard, Louisiana. My home town crowd really gets behind me and makes me feel special. Their support is worth a million bucks to me!

C.J. Asher – What advice would you give to a woman who wants to become a dancer?

Ivy Bane – What advice would I give? That’s an easy one. If you can’t do it sober, don’t do it at all. I have seen one too many get sucked into doing drugs and drinking. They ruin their lives and end up in jail, rehab, or worse the hospital.

C.J. Asher – How has being a dancer impacted your personal and professional life?  Do family, friends and co-workers know you’re a dancer and what do they think about it?

Ivy Bane – I have been very blessed with my dancing career. My family knows what I do for a living and supports me 100%. My children know mommy is a dancer and are proud of all of my medals, awards, trophies, and crowns. I don’t lie to anyone about what I do for a living because I do a job, It doesn’t do me. You get one of two reactions. First: “Oh girl, that’s great! I wish I could do what you do!” Second: “Oh…” and then the face like you just farted and it smells like six sweaty nasty men just left the gym without deodorant and walked in the door.

promo12C.J. Asher – You mentioned that you’re raising two young boys. What’s it like to raise children and work in the adult entertainment industry?

Ivy Bane – It’s hard to raise two boys when you work late hours, get off at 3:00am and have to be up at 7:00am to get them off to school. I am very lucky to have an ex-husband who helps me more than anyone else. I guess it’s a blessing and a curse to do what I do because I see the best and worst of people. It makes me very upfront with my boys. I don’t sugar coat anything when it comes to them.  My oldest is almost fourteen and is home schooled so I get much more time with him. My youngest has high-functioning autism and is in special classes so he goes to regular school. I never have them on the weekends because of my job and when I am gone it’s hard to parent from across the country. This past weekend I was in West Virginia and my ex’s brother passed away. It was really hard for me not to be there for my babies, who were having a hard time. I am a very hands-on parent. All big talks, I am included in, and all decisions are finalized through me. Nothing happens without my final OK. The boys don’t see me as a dancer, or entertainer, or (ugh) a stripper… I hate the word; they just see me as Momma and that is GOLD!

C.J. Asher – Besides the money, of course, what’s your favorite part about being a dancer?

Ivy Bane – My favorite part of being a dancer is the moment when I get off of stage and that one person that never tips asks me to come over to give me money because I impressed them. Or when someone walks up while I am on sage to tell me that what I do is amazing! I live for that! The people that realize that what I do is more than dancing, It’s entertainment!

C.J. Asher – Who in adult entertainment is your idol, either a performer or someone else that you look up to?

Ivy Bane – I would have to say one of my very best friends, Miss Taya Parker. She is the reason I am where I am. She has always been there to boost me up and tell me I am good enough. She is my very own tiny – because she is shorter than me at 5’1″ – guardian angel. She always has very uplifting, motivational words of wisdom for me. She jumps my ass when I need it most and she is always just a phone call away when I am in doubt of my “badassery skills” as she puts it. She and I have been friends for about five years now and when we are together we are like sisters. She is what I aspire to be.

C.J. Asher – What’s the most stressful part of your job?

Ivy Bane – The most stressful part of my job is dealing with STUPID people. Not your average stupid people, I mean the drunk guy that won’t take no for an answer. The guy who keeps on asking what I do when I am not at work, which I tell them that I cut grass OFFSHORE. If you don’t get it. There is no grass offshore. Or the women who come in and think you want their man, That’s laughable.

C.J. Asher – What nominations and awards have you received?

Ivy Bane – My awards list is pretty long but I’ll give you my favorites.
2016 Pole Dance National Grand Champion
2016 Feature Dancer Showgirl National Grand Champion
2016 Stripper Olympics Pole Champion
2014 Michael’s Men’s Club Entertainer of the Year
2013 Miss Pole Champ Louisiana

C.J. Asher – What do you see yourself doing after you retire from dancing?

Ivy Bane – I would really like to stay in the industry if I could. I would love to be a VIP hostess or manage a club. I know a lot about this industry and think my expertise would be an asset to a club that wants to turn its self around.

C.J. Asher – What’s the nicest compliment or rudest comment you’ve ever received from a customer?

Ivy Bane – The nicest thing I have ever heard was that I completely changed someone’s mind about what a dancer was all about. The meanest was that I was nothing but a fucking stripper and that was all I would ever be.

C.J. Asher – Can you tell me one or two crazy stories or experiences you’ve had while working as a dancer?

Ivy Bane – Ha! I once saw a woman come into a club looking for her husband. She came in with his best friend. When she found him, she beat his ass senseless for being there. He wasn’t sitting with me but the lovely young lady he was sitting with got a drink in her face and slapped. Security took her outside, but he refused to leave because he was scared she was outside waiting for him. There was a look of pure fear in his eyes. I’m sure when he got home she beat him! Another one, this actually happened to me. I was on stage and a “man” was tipping me. I leaned back and he pulled my underwear to the side and tried to stick his finger inside of me. I then leaned back, kicked him in the chest, he flew into the mirror and then proceeded to jump on top of him and whip his ass! He tried to call the cops on me, they just laughed at him and asked me if I wanted to press charges. I didn’t, his ass whopping in front of his friends was enough for me.

About cjasher (35 Articles)
C.J. Asher is a blogger on various subject matters and trending topics related to sexuality, such as prostitution, women's rights, sex trafficking and LGBT issues as well as the adult entertainment industry, having interviewed celebrities such as Dennis Hof and Joanna Angel. C.J. currently resides in Philadelphia, PA and his blog can be found at CJAsher.com.

Leave a Reply

