News Ticker

C.J. Asher interviews Anastasia Wilson, Exotic Dancer and Pole Dance Instructor

anaC.J. Asher – First of all, thank you for this interview! Tell us a little about yourself, Anastasia…

Anastasia Wilson – My name is Anastasia Wilson, Ana for short, and I am twenty years old. I grew up in Davisburg, Michigan and I now live in Battle Creek, Michigan. I went to school in a little town; I grew up dancing forty-plus hours a week as well as in cheerleading. After I graduated high school, I went to Western Michigan University where I was on the Western Michigan All-Girl Cheer Team.

C.J. Asher – How did you get your start in dancing?

Anastasia Wilson – I went to Western for about a semester and a quarter. I loved the team, but my financial aid fell through so I was forced to drop school which meant I couldn’t live in the dorms anymore. When I moved, I didn’t know my new roommates but I had my hopes on stripping for the money to go to school. My first night there I found out my new roommate was an exotic dancer, which now I realize was just fate. She took me to her home club which at that time it was called Hots Gentlemens Club.

C.J. Asher – Tell us a little about your dancing career right now.

Anastasia Wilson – I compete in local competitions and I teach pole dancing at my home club Vegas Strip Gentlemens Club. I am the instructor for our dance team Vegas Strip Show Girls and I host our competitions. I am currently working on all of my sets and costumes so I can start to feature in the next six months.

C.J. Asher – How did you choose your stage name?

Anastasia Wilson – When I found out that I was going to be kicked out of school, all of my friends took me to see Fifty Shades of Grey to help cheer me up; I was obsessed with the books. After we were all talking about what I was going to do and I said, “I am going to strip” and one of my friends said, “you have to go by Anastasia you look exactly like her!” At the time I had shoulder length brown hair with bangs, very pale and very thin; the name just stuck.

C.J. Asher – What other work do you do in adult entertainment besides being a feature dancer?

Anastasia Wilson – Photography is my side hustle. I shoot a lot of the money makers: seniors, wedding, family, etc; but my favorite is glamour implied nudes or boudoir. At my home club I shoot all of our girls for the website and their dancer pages; my club is very social media savvy.

C.J. Asher – Most people don’t know that being a dancer is hard, physically demanding work! What do you do outside of the club to relax, unwind and have fun?

Anastasia Wilson – Besides my photography – which is generally my fun – I love spending time with my cat or going on day trips to the shore of Lake Michigan.

C.J. Asher – What television shows are you into right now?

Anastasia Wilson – My guilty pleaser is Keeping Up With The Kardashians and W.A.G.S. – the original, not Miami.

C.J. Asher – What has been your favorite club to perform in so far?

Anastasia Wilson – I have to say my home club Vegas Strip Gentlemen’s Clubs; it’s brand new and it is a performance stage.

ana-2C.J. Asher – What advice would you give to a woman who wants to become a dancer?

Anastasia Wilson – Make sure that your mentally strong enough. It sounds silly, but customers are exhausting at times. You need a strong personality, and sit down to write out what crosses the line for you. It is okay to say no. For me, personally, I won’t go nude because I feel that it is something that I only want to share with those I am intimately involved in. Also I am a prude, sounds odd but it’s the truth. When I am with customers, I won’t take my top off unless I am given a five dollar tip when I am at a table, and I have rules that get less strict as I go. I do it for two reason: 1. it gives my customers satisfaction like leveling up in a video game when I take my top off or when they can finally grab my hips 2. I am a prude and I just don’t like to be touched.

C.J. Asher – Besides the money, of course, what’s your favorite part about being a dancer?

Anastasia Wilson – The stage, I LOVE performing.

C.J. Asher – Who in adult entertainment is your idol, either a performer or someone else that you look up to?

Anastasia Wilson – I LOVE Amy Hazel and Maddie Sparkle they are two pole dancers out of Australia and they are AMAZING!

C.J. Asher – What nominations and awards have you received?

Anastasia Wilson – I am Miss Michigan Exotica 2016, Miss Michigan Exotica Pole Champion 2016, and Miss Michigan Exotica Fitness 2016.

C.J. Asher – Tell us about your work as a pole instructor; do you teach other dancers or the public?

Anastasia Wilson – At my home club I teach five to six morning a week depending on how many private lessons I schedule that week. At Vegas Strip, we have an elite group of our dancers that make up the Vegas Strip Show Girls that I instruct and choreography all of our big shows that we do every weekend. I also teach a lot of other dancers that work at my club – which if you dance there its free – and I teach other girls from other clubs as well as ladies who don’t have anything to do with strip clubs.

C.J. Asher – Do family, friends and co-workers know you’re a dancer and what do they think about it?

Anastasia Wilson – Yes, everyone in my life knows that I am an adult entertainer I am very proud of what I do. When I told my parents, they weren’t thrilled with it, but after seeing me perform they understood and that’s really the same with my friends. When I was younger, I planned on becoming a professional ballerina or going on Broadway, but I deteriorated all of the tendons in both of my ankles my junior year of high school which ended that dream. Pole dancing and aerial arts that I do as an exotic dancer qualifies me as a professional dancer because I am being paid so I look at it as another shot at my original dream. I believe that is the main reason that my friends and family support me so much. They show up to my club and competitions with flowers and big signs with my name on it; they truly are my number one fans.

C.J. Asher – What do you see yourself doing after you retire from dancing?

Anastasia Wilson – Currently I am teaching out of my home club, and within the next five years I am hoping to have my own studio which will be my way out of dancing in the adult industry without having to really stop dancing.

C.J. Asher – What upcoming appearances and other events do you have coming up?

Anastasia Wilson – I am hosting my very first competition which I have been putting together: Vegas Strip Performing Arts Championship 2017. Unlike most competitions, we have three divisions: 1. Pole Soloist 2. Duets and Group Performance 3. Performance. In division two and three, the routines are performances other than the pole: aerials, fire, poi, hula hooping, burlesque, and other circus props.

C.J. Asher – What social media sites can your fans follow you on?

Anastasia Wilson – Fans can find me at:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/183023902042384/
Instagram, snapchat and twitter: @anaxwilson

About cjasher (35 Articles)
C.J. Asher is a blogger on various subject matters and trending topics related to sexuality, such as prostitution, women's rights, sex trafficking and LGBT issues as well as the adult entertainment industry, having interviewed celebrities such as Dennis Hof and Joanna Angel. C.J. currently resides in Philadelphia, PA and his blog can be found at CJAsher.com.

Leave a Reply

